Alice in Wonderland with The Mad Hatter

Some time ago, I put together an Alice in Wonderland costume.    This Halloween, I needed a good, quick costume for me and my boyfriend, so I dusted off the Alice outfit (making her a new apron, doing a better job hemming the dress), and put together  a quick Mad Hatter.



There really isn’t much to report on this – other than to show the final picture.  The Mad Hatter was almost completely pieces bought from a thrift shop.  We sought out pieces that looked clean and dapper – but that didn’t quite match or were overly loud.  The trick, really, was to make him look ridiculous without veering into Hobo territory.   Wide French cuffs, a vest along with the suit, and a polka-dot tie were probably the most important pieces – aside from the hat.   Also, I feel that the tag tucked into the hat band may also be important.    When you see that tag, some sort of alarm bell goes off in your head that says “Mad Hatter!”

Leave a comment