Mermaid – Makeup and Jewelry

I made a tail, bra and crown for a mermaid costume, but some other pieces and parts sort of washed up that added to the final costume.

A friend had a white and blue chunky necklace that she loaned me.   All I did was attach a loop of wire to a shell, and hang it off the middle of the necklace.  I could have done the same thing with a strand of pearls.   And since I didn’t glue the shell on, it easily came off so that the necklace could be returned to it’s normal, usable self.

I wasn’t going to do any face make-up, but they had a make-up booth at the party and I let them put some color on me.   They tried to make it scaly by using a mesh as a template, but it failed.   The make –up was just green eye shadow, brushed on over a thin layer of make-up base to help it stick.

My favorite part, though, is that they used false eyelash glue to make three small dots below my eye, and then gently brushed on a little glitter.   Those three dots came out so perfectly that I would definitely do them again.   And they stuck so well that I needed to use make up remover several times to wash them off.

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

